Buy gold with Ethereum: which bullion dealers accept ETH
Ethereum is accepted at 12 of the 14 bullion dealers we track, and at all but one of them it goes through the same BitPay invoice as Bitcoin. Kitco and Bullion Exchanges are the two exceptions: both name Bitcoin as their only coin. At the dealers that show one crypto column on their product pages, ETH buyers see the same price as Bitcoin buyers, generally 2% to 3% below the card price and 1 to 2 points above a bank wire.
Dealers that name ETH
Each row comes from the dealer's own payment, FAQ or product page, on the date in the last column. "unknown" means the dealer doesn't publish it.
| Dealer | ETH named on | Crypto price vs card | Crypto order limit | Ships to | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| APMEX | payment FAQ | 3.0% lower (product-page note; FAQ wording differs) | $400,000 per week | US and 33 listed countries | Oct 22, 2026 |
| JM Bullion | coin FAQ | 3% lower | $2,000,000 per order | US addresses only | Oct 22, 2026 |
| SD Bullion | Bitcoin blog post (BTC, BCH, ETH and other BitPay coins) | 3% lower for Bitcoin; ETH not stated | $250,000 (Bitcoin) | US; international buyers can pay through BitPay | Oct 19, 2026 |
| Bullion Standard | FAQ | 2.0% lower in listed prices (text says 3%) | $100,000 | US; abroad through support | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Hero Bullion | Gold Eagle product page | 2% lower | conflicting: $20,000 (text) vs $500,000 (table) | US | Oct 22, 2026 |
| BGASC | help 811 | 3% off list price (card base not stated) | $250,000 | US | Oct 20, 2026 |
| Provident Metals | help 259 | 3% lower | conflicting: $100,000 vs $1,000,000 (two help articles) | US | Oct 20, 2026 |
| Silver Gold Bull | payment page | 3% (payment page; no crypto price on product pages) | $250,000 | US and more via country sites (not Canada: silvergoldbull.ca takes no crypto) | Oct 20, 2026 |
| Money Metals Exchange | a 2017 dealer post | none stated ("a modest transaction fee") | about $200,000 online | US | Oct 16, 2026 |
| SchiffGold | indexed copy of its crypto page | unknown | unknown | US | Oct 19, 2026 |
| Sharps Pixley | crypto page | unknown (prices in GBP) | unknown | UK | Oct 19, 2026 |
| Ainslie | buy/sell page | unknown (own trading desk) | unknown | Australia | Oct 16, 2026 |
Not on the list: Kitco's checkout takes Bitcoin only, sent from your own wallet, up to $10,000 for first-time buyers, and Bullion Exchanges names only Bitcoin.
What an ETH buyer paid for one Gold Eagle on October 22
These are the listed crypto prices for a single 1 oz American Gold Eagle on the morning of October 22, 2026, taken from our Crypto Checkout Cost report capture. The read times differ by up to nine minutes, and gold was falling that morning, so small gaps between dealers can be timing. Sales tax is excluded.
| Dealer | Column on the product page | Crypto price | Read (MST) |
|---|---|---|---|
| SD Bullion | "Bitcoin" | $4,205.46 | Oct 22, 9:05:53 AM |
| Bullion Standard | "Crypto" | $4,287.23 | Oct 22, 9:05:53 AM |
| JM Bullion | "Crypto" | $4,317.67 | Oct 22, 9:14:41 AM (browser) |
| APMEX | "Crypto (through BitPay)" | $4,323.36 | Oct 22, 9:05:53 AM |
| Hero Bullion (2026 coin) | "Crypto" | $4,340.60 | Oct 22, 9:06:57 AM |
SD Bullion labels its column "Bitcoin", and its written terms name Bitcoin only, so whether an ETH payment gets that price is unknown until the BitPay invoice shows it. BGASC, Provident Metals and Silver Gold Bull weren't in that capture; we read them in a browser the next morning (below). Gold moved between the two days, so don't compare the two tables row by row.
October 23 reads: BGASC, Provident Metals and Silver Gold Bull
Listed single-coin prices for a 1 oz American Gold Eagle, read in a browser on October 23, 2026, before sales tax.
| Dealer (coin, quantity) | Wire or cash | Crypto | Card | Read (MST) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BGASC (random year, 1-9) | $4,194.78 | $4,238.48 ("Crypto") | $4,369.56 | Oct 23, about 8:23 AM |
| Provident Metals (random year, 1+) | $4,193.17 | $4,236.85 | $4,367.88 | Oct 23, about 8:20 AM |
| Silver Gold Bull (2026 coin, 1+) | $4,214.50 | no separate crypto price listed | $4,390.10 | Oct 23, about 8:20 AM |
At BGASC and Provident Metals the crypto price was 3.0% under card and 1.0% over wire. Provident's crypto column says the 3% discount applies when you pay with "BTC, BCH, ETH, WBTC, DOGE, LTC, and 5 USD-pegged stable coins", so ETH gets that price. BGASC labels its column only "Crypto" and its product page doesn't say whether ETH gets it. Silver Gold Bull lists no crypto price on the product page; its payment page gives a 3% crypto discount.
How ETH payment works at a BitPay dealer
In our dealer data, 11 of the 12 route crypto through BitPay; Ainslie trades through its own desk. (BGASC and Provident Metals confirm BitPay for Bitcoin specifically.) BitPay's support pages set rules that apply whatever the dealer:
- Networks. BitPay lists Ethereum and Ethereum tokens, plus the Base, Optimism and Arbitrum layer 2 networks, as invoice options. It also says the coins offered "vary by the shopper's or merchant's location", so whether a given dealer's invoice offers ETH on a layer 2 network is unknown; the invoice shows what's available.
- Account and ID. BitPay's own help center says it collects shopper information for any payment through BitPay, with no minimum (BitPay, updated September 18, 2026), and its invoice guide (updated October 12, 2026) says to log in or create a BitPay account, and complete BitPay ID verification if you haven't, before you pay. Some dealer help pages still mention $3,000. Expect BitPay to ask for ID even on small orders. Our ID rules page compares that with what each dealer writes.
- Wallets. BitPay recommends a Payment Protocol wallet or WalletConnect. Sending from a plain wallet works only if you copy the exact address and amount; anything else is refunded. Coinbase account payments work for US residents, and payments from other exchanges "are not supported".
- Time. The invoice accepts payment for 15 minutes, and the transaction then needs blockchain confirmation.
- Fees. The network (gas) fee is on you. Bullion Standard says so in its FAQ, and BitPay notes that Payment Protocol wallets add a sufficient network fee automatically. No dealer publishes a fee figure for ETH.
Wrapped Bitcoin (WBTC), an Ethereum token, is also named by APMEX, JM Bullion, Bullion Standard, Hero Bullion, BGASC, Provident Metals and Silver Gold Bull.
Which dealer for which ETH buyer
- Largest single order: JM Bullion, up to $2,000,000 per crypto order, US delivery only.
- Outside the US: APMEX (33 listed countries) or Silver Gold Bull (ships from Canada through its country sites, though its Canadian site takes no crypto). SD Bullion lets international customers pay through BitPay but states its discount for Bitcoin only.
- Lowest listed crypto price on October 22: SD Bullion's column, if the invoice gives ETH the Bitcoin price. Among dealers whose column says "Crypto", Bullion Standard was lowest that morning, though its crypto price was only 2% under card.
- Paying with ETH you hold on an exchange: check the invoice first. BitPay accepts Coinbase account payments from US residents and rejects other exchanges.
Paying by bank wire was cheaper than any crypto payment at every dealer with a listed wire price, by about 1 to 2 points.
Frequently asked questions
Do dealers charge more for ETH than for Bitcoin?
At APMEX, JM Bullion, Bullion Standard and Hero Bullion the product page shows one crypto price for all coins, so no. SD Bullion and Kitco label their column "Bitcoin"; Kitco doesn't take ETH, and SD Bullion doesn't say whether ETH gets the Bitcoin price.
Can I pay a bullion dealer with ETH on Base or Arbitrum?
BitPay supports Base, Optimism and Arbitrum for invoice payments, but it says available options vary by merchant and location. None of the 12 dealers names a layer 2 network, so check which networks the invoice lists before sending.
Which dealers don't take Ethereum?
Kitco and Bullion Exchanges name Bitcoin as their only crypto. All 12 other dealers we track name ETH.
We earn nothing from these dealers; links go straight to their sites (disclosure). This page compares published payment terms and listed prices and doesn't recommend buying gold or any coin. Prices change through the day; confirm the total on the invoice. How we check: methodology. Related: buy gold with USDC, is it cheaper to buy gold with Bitcoin?